Me

noticing {L1}

Day 1

For me, today was a day of noticing…

of seeing the little blessings that I take for granted…

of taking the time to smell the roses…

quite literally, I mean smelling the roses that are in full bloom in our backyard

I sat on the swing that our children rarely use anymore, tipped my head back into the sun-filled California sky and smiled as the chit-chat of birds filled the warm air, forgetful of the fact that 30-something year old women aren’t supposed to giggle as they swing.  No, not forgetful…uncaring, yeah, that’s more like it.

I lost myself in the moment…and even got brave enough to follow a busy little bee as he searched for food.

Yeah…for a girlie-girl like me, that was definitely a God thing.

Today was a day when I observed my world… and as I watched, a quiet joy invaded my soul, colored my vision and warmed my seeking heart…

a little glory in the early morning

the viewpoint from my favorite wind-chime hanging in my favorite tree

 

a perfect wish just waiting to be made

And as I finish up this post and ready my heart & mind for bed, I am suddenly reminded of a couple of verses buried within Psalm 37 that say:

Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn, your vindication like the noonday sun.  Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.”

For me, on the day I have re-committed my way to Him, I find my peace in the reward of the dawn of a fresh chance to re-discover my Lord.

I relish His warm vindication of the “not-as-ok-as-you-might-think“ that I was just yesterday.

I praise Him from a heart that let go enough to swing back and forth in brilliant light of a pre-mature spring day in Southern California under the chorus of birds overhead.

…until tomorrow…

Looking up, as always,

Bina

2 thoughts on “noticing {L1}”

Leave a comment