Me

firmly planted

"Christianity isn't for wimps."

I’ve seen it on facebook status updates…even on a bumper sticker once…and yet, for some reason, when the going gets rough, I forget that simple truth.

The day-to-day doesn’t wear me down…I can pick up the same shoes 100 times, wash 14 loads of laundry a week, say “no, you can’t sit on the roof to do your homework because I said so” like it is a normal request to be made, and shake my head in wonder at the constant bickering of our five kids…and, at the end of the day, I can go to bed, sleep soundly and get up to do it all again when the sun rudely rips me from my sweet slumber.

Easy-peasy.

The repetition doesn’t do me in…no…but the addition of one extra emotion/step outside my comfort zone/confrontation (real or imagined) can send me into a roller-coaster ride of fear and panic that helps me to forget that I am not alone on the ride.

One whisper of “reach out and love that person even though it won’t fix your relationship” …one prompting in my heart to make eye contact with the man everyone else is avoiding with great effort …one command to “be still and know” in the midst of faith-breaking heartache …and I am off and running from the monsters my heart and mind create from my circumstances, refusing to remember or acknowledge a Force greater than my own fear.

I wonder why He lets me go.  He is God, afterall!!  With a simple flick of His fingers, He could have me glued to His side, confident…faithful…perfected…and yet, He stands still as I flee.  As time has moved on in my walk/chase with Him, I have learned a couple of things…the biggest being that fear is a percieved emotion.  It is one that tackles our senses based on the input our mind takes in from the circumstances around us and can trigger a fallout, even if the enemy isn’t really what we think we see.

It feels real…

It can be massive…

It can be blinding…

But we are called to stop, face the enemy and remember that the King, who is mounted on his warhorse directly beside us, isn’t afraid.  His colors flying and His gaze steady, He stands ready to defend and fight for what is His…

for what He loves…

for what He knows is right.

He sees the monster for what it really is and He doesn’t break ranks to turn-tail and run…rather, He stands, ready to march His forces into battle…for us…for me…for you…simply because

He Loves Us.

I. Am. Not. Alone. …in the circumstances that work to cause me to turn and run.

You. Are. Not. Alone. …in whatever battle it is that you fight against as you read this.

We. Are. Not. Alone. …in this path called life.

Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the
LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.    Deuteronomy 31:6

 Looking up, as always…

bina

Leave a Reply

