God, God's Love, Me, Poetry

lift up your face, salvation is calling

whispers drift in on the wind
begging me to turn back
ripping at my mind
gnawing thru my heart
breaking past the guards
knocking down the walls
 
the echo of His love
screaming its soft call
the yearning of passion
the desperation of desire
the simplicity of love
my soul aches in awareness
 
my feet cease to guide
surrender floods me over
and i can’t help but cry
i am broken for Him
tears long-buried and unmentioned
free to pour out their salty reply
 
He comes from nowhere
absorbing me from every direction
knowing me on every level
mystifying my mind
clarifying my heart
overwhelming my senses
 
the tremble overtakes me
slamming my body to the ground
burying my face in the dirt
the tremble undoes me
causing a sense of shame
creating a denial of truth
 
until He whispers again
until His heart holds mine
until my eyes meet His
until i remember…and yield again
I am my beloved’s
and my beloved is mine
 

The inspiration for the words: Third Day

 
 
Looking up, as always…
bina
16 thoughts on “lift up your face, salvation is calling”

  1. Beautiful. It’s one thing to give one’s heart to Jesus, I think, and another to give one’s life. The surrender in this poem reveals your understanding of the latter. May God continue to bless and keep you.

  2. This created such the stir in my heart:
    He comes from nowhere
    absorbing me from every direction
    knowing me on every level
    mystifying my mind
    clarifying my heart
    overwhelming my senses

    Oh, how I want to be so utterly absorbed by Him, fully known, fully cherished, fully wrapped in His love.

    1. Jen… this poem came after a very emotionally trying day, leaving me “done”. But I sat at my computer, knowing I needed to vent…and when that song came on my iPod, it all just flowed up and out. That particular group was one of the hardest for me to “confess” and yet became the most cleansing for my soul.

      Thanks for popping over!! Hugs!!

  3. I started singing as soon as I read your title. Great song. Actually, Third Day is coming close to us very soon, and I was hoping to go…

    Anyway,beautiful words. I’m always jealous of poets.

  4. you have expressed yourself beautifully. stirring. moving. what a day it has been here, and to come and know. . . to see. . . to feel. what a blessing. thank you for sharing your heart and using your words to glorify Him.
    steph

Leave a Reply

